To Graduate or Not to Graduate

** A Blog Post I wrote in my last semester of Uni.

I’m so proud of  my life.

“Every year, many, many stupid people graduate from college. And if they can do it, so can you.”
― John Green

I think I’m going to drop out of University.

Bill Gates did it, Kanye West did it. Why can’t I?

There’s some real logic behind this guys. I’m only 4 credits away from graduating. To graduate, I need to take 1 more science class. AND I AM NOT ABOUT THAT LIFE.

Well…you see, 4 credits is about $5,000 dollars at American University. In comparison to the $150,000 I’ve spent on University thus far, $5,000 is really nothing to me. #ballin

But there is a sound principle here I want to follow. I am Global Security student; I study military history, human trafficking, U.S foreign policy, terrorism, and other really cool things you’ve probably seen on Homeland.

tumblr_inline_ngzqyh8jPX1t2eant.gif

Why, in my very last semester should I take this science course as a part of general education. General education is an opportunity for students to learn a bit about everything, and figure out what they want to focus on. Well, American University I’ve already decided I’m going to save the world by making more sound decisions in the U.S. defense system. I’ve got my life together. get yours.

However, if I don’t take this class, I won’t obtain a bachelors degree. Which in the private sector won’t matter, maybe. There are LOADS of CEOs with only high school diplomas. I mean not only did I reach the 120 credit minimum, I did it in 3 years instead of 4 – boo-yah!

BUT, if I want to work for the Government, I think it might matter… I think it could actually really inhibit me from getting job offers, promotions, because I won’t qualify for the minimum qualifications.. maybe there’s a way around this but it just seems like a headache.

Or, not having a bachelors degree will motivate me to start my own thing. I’ll be the next Markia Zuckerburg.

I don’t know what to do… I would really like to go to Zambia and learn how to farm until I figure it out. Farming is an important skill y’know, we need more farmers. But, my mom won’t let me and I don’t have that much money.

Life of a 21 year old.

 

 

Leave a comment